Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Visa Waiver Program

Visa Waiver Program

On October 2, 2012 the United States announced Taiwan’s designation for participation in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). Under the VWP, eligible Taiwan passport holders will be able to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa, if certain requirements are met.

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables eligible travelers from 37 participating countries[1]  to travel to the United States for business or tourism (for visitor [B] visa purposes of travel) for 90 days or less without obtaining a visa. This period cannot be extended, nor can a VWP traveler change status, for example to a student visa, while in the United States. Travelers eligible for the VWP may apply for a visa, if they prefer to do so. In order to travel under the VWP, travelers must first receive travel authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) (if travel by air or sea), and must meet all eligibility requirements in advance of travel.

The U.S. government’s fee for an ESTA approved application is $14.  Third party websites that provide information about ESTA and submit ESTA applications for VWP travelers are not endorsed by, associated with, or affiliated in any way with the U.S. government. If the website does not contain “.gov,” it is not the official ESTA website.  To visit the official ESTA website, please click here.

Frequently Asked Questions about the VWP and ESTA:

  • Who is eligible to travel under the VWP?

    Who is eligible to travel under the VWP?

    • Taiwan applicants who meet the following criteria may be eligible to travel under the VWP:

      • Travelers with a biometric Taiwan passport (called an e-passport) that was issued on or after December 29, 2008 and contains a National ID  number;

      • Travelers entering the United States for 90 days or less for the purposes of tourism or business (for visitor [B] visa purposes of travel).  Transit through the United States is generally permitted;

      • They have received an authorization to travel under the VWP through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA);

      • If arriving by air or sea, they are traveling on an approved carrier (see the approved carriers list (PDF, 230K) and have a return trip ticket to any foreign destination; and

      • They can demonstrate sufficient funds to support themselves while in the United States. Nationals of Visa Waiver Program countries must meet the above eligibility requirements to travel without a visa, and therefore, some travelers from VWP countries are not eligible to use the program.

  • Who needs to apply for a nonimmigrant visa, rather than an ESTA authorization?

    Who needs to apply for a nonimmigrant visa, rather than an ESTA authorization?

    • The following types of travelers are not eligible for travel under the VWP and need to apply for a nonimmigrant visa:

      Anyone whose purpose of travel is not consistent with business or tourist activities permitted under B-1/B-2 visa requirements, including:

      • Applicants who intend to work in the United States (either paid or unpaid). This includes working journalists or news media members, au-pairs, interns, musicians and other specific employment categories; 

      • Applicants who intend to study (F visas) or come to the United States on an exchange visitor program (J visas); 

      • Airline crew members or seamen who are transiting through the United States en route to another destination (C1/D visas); 

      • Applicants who enter the United States on private planes or on private yachts;

      • Applicants who will stay in the United States for business or pleasure for more than 90 days; and

      • Applicants who previously have been denied an ESTA authorization, or who have other immigration violations.

  • What information do I need to complete an ESTA application?

    What information do I need to complete an ESTA application?

    • Each application must contain, in English, biographical data including name, birth date, and passport information. The applicant must also answer VWP eligibility questions regarding communicable diseases, arrests and convictions for certain crimes, past history of visa revocation or deportation, and other questions. Children, regardless of age, are also required to obtain a separate ESTA approval. The traveler or applicant will also need credit or debit card information to pay the fees associated with the ESTA application.

  • Is there a fee for a travel authorization?

    Is there a fee for a travel authorization?

    • Yes. The amount of the fee depends upon whether the ESTA application is approved. The fee for an approved application is $14, and includes two parts:

      • $4 Processing Charge – All applicants requesting an electronic travel authorization are charged for the processing of each application submitted, regardless of whether the application is approved.

      • $10 Travel Promotion Act Fee – If your application is approved and you receive authorization to travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program, an additional $10 will be charged to your credit or debit card. This fee is credited to the Travel Promotion Fund. If your electronic travel authorization is denied, you are only charged for the processing of your application.

  • When should I apply for an ESTA authorization ?

    When should I apply for an ESTA authorization ?

    • You may submit your application at any time prior to travel. We recommend that you submit your travel authorization application as early as possible. VWP travelers are not required to have specific plans to travel to the United States before they apply for an ESTA authorization. When you are preparing to travel to the United States, please keep in mind that your application may take up to 72 hours to process.

  • How long is an ESTA authorization valid?

    How long is an ESTA authorization valid?

    • ESTA travel authorizations are generally valid for two years or until your passport expires, whichever comes first. Visit the ESTA FAQs on the CBP website to learn more about situations requiring a new ESTA travel authorization. A new ESTA travel authorization is required if the traveler is issued a new passport, changes his or her name, changes his or her gender, changes citizenship, or if any answer that the traveler previously gave when responding to questions into the ESTA application is no longer accurate. Otherwise, a visitor may travel to the United States repeatedly within the validity period without having to apply for another ESTA authorization.

  • I already have a valid B1/B2 visa. Do I need an ESTA authorization, too?

    I already have a valid B1/B2 visa. Do I need an ESTA authorization, too?

    • No. Travelers who already have a valid visitor visa will still be able to travel with that visa as long as you are still travelling for visitor (B) visa purposes and the visa is not expired or revoked. No ESTA authorization would be required in this case. Individuals traveling on valid visas are not required to apply for an ESTA authorization.

  • If I travel on the Visa Waiver Program to the United States and then visit Canada or Mexico, may I return to the United States using the Visa Waiver Program as well?

    If I travel on the Visa Waiver Program to the United States and then visit Canada or Mexico, may I return to the United States using the Visa Waiver Program as well?

  • I am a legal permanent resident (LPR) of the United States but I don’t travel to the U.S. very often. Should I give up my LPR status and travel to the U.S. under the VWP instead?

    I am a legal permanent resident (LPR) of the United States but I don’t travel to the U.S. very often. Should I give up my LPR status and travel to the U.S. under the VWP instead?

    • LPRs who plan to travel under the VWP may be required to wait for 4-6 weeks after completing the I-407 form before registering for ESTA authorization.  For more information about abandoning your permanent residence, please visit the Immigrant Visas section of our website.

  • I've been charged more than $14 for submitting my ESTA application, what should I do?

    I've been charged more than $14 for submitting my ESTA application, what should I do?

    • There are a number of third parties that have established websites that charge a fee for submitting your application on your behalf.  If you have used one of these third party sites, we strongly suggest you use your reference number to confirm with the official U.S. government site to ensure that your ESTA application is in our system.  We recommend you do this because we have no way of knowing if the information passed through the third party website to us is accurate. If it is not, you may have a problem when you arrive in the U.S.

      CBP cannot refund the money you paid to a third party website, however if you think you have been victimized, contact your bank or credit card company and request a refund of any amount over the $14.00 required by the U.S. government by disputing the add-on charges on your statement.

Notes

  • [1] With respect to all references to “country” or “countries”, it should be noted that the Taiwan Relations Act of 1979, Pub. L. No. 96-8, Section 4(b)(1), provides that “[w]henever the laws of the United States refer or relate to foreign countries, nations, states, governments, or similar entities, such terms shall include and such laws shall apply with respect to Taiwan.” 22 U.S.C. § 3303(b)(1). Accordingly, all references to “country” or “countries” in the Visa Waiver Program authorizing legislation, Section 217 of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1187, are read to include Taiwan. This is consistent with the United States’ one-China policy, under which the United States has maintained unofficial relations with Taiwan since 1979.

Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
免簽證計劃 (VWP)

免簽證計劃

美國於2012年10月2日宣布台灣加入免簽證計劃(以下簡稱VWP)。根據VWP,符合資格之台灣護照持有人若滿足特定條件,即可赴美從事觀光或商務達90天,無需簽證。

VWP允許來自37個參與國[1]符合資格的旅客,無須申請美簽即可前往美國洽商或觀光(B簽證之旅行目的)並可停留達90天。惟停留天數不得延長,VWP旅客在美期間亦不得改變其身份,例如變更為學生簽證身份。若符合VWP資格之旅客希望申請美簽,亦可選擇申辦。旅客欲以VWP入境美國,須先透過旅行授權電子系統(ESTA)取得授權許可(若搭飛機或船),並於旅行前滿足所有相關資格條件。

針對獲得核准的ESTA旅行許可,美國政府收取$14美元的費用。有些第三方網站也提供ESTA資訊並代替免簽證計劃旅客提出ESTA申請,但這些網站並未獲得美國政府的認可,與美國政府無關,也並非美國政府的附屬機構。如果網址不包含「.gov」,它就不是ESTA的官方網站。如要瀏覽ESTA官方網站,請按這裡

有關VWP和ESTA的常見問題:

  • 哪些旅客得適用VWP入境美國?

    哪些旅客得適用VWP入境美國?

    • 台灣申請人若滿足下列條件即可適用VWP入境美國:

      • 旅客持有之台灣護照為2008年12月29日當日或以後核發之生物辨識電子護照,且具備國民身分證號碼。

      • 旅客前往美國洽商或觀光(B訪客簽證適用的旅行目的) 並且停留不超過90天。過境美國通常也適用。

      • 旅客已透過旅行授權電子系統(ESTA)取得以VWP入境之授權許可。

      • 倘以飛機或船舶入境,須為核准之運輸業者(檢視核准之運輸業者名單),並且有前往他國目的地之回程票。

      • 旅客具備足夠資金供在美期間支出。

      VWP國家之國民必須符合上述資格條件,方能在無美簽下入境美國。因此,VWP國家的部份旅客可能無法適用免簽證計劃。

  • 哪些旅客必須申請非移民簽證,而非ESTA授權?

    哪些旅客必須申請非移民簽證,而非ESTA授權?

    • 下列旅客不適用VWP,而必須申請非移民簽證:

      赴美目的非B1/B2簽證所允許的洽商或觀光,包括:

      • 欲在美國工作者(無論有給職或無給職),包括新聞與媒體工作者、寄宿幫傭、實習生、音樂家、以及其他特定職種。

      • 欲在美國求學(F簽證)或參加交換訪客計劃者(J簽證)。

      • 前往其他國家而途中需要過境美國的空勤或航海組員(C1/D簽證) 。

      • 以私家飛機或私人遊艇入境美國者。

      • 欲在美洽商或觀光超過90日者。

      • 曾被拒絕ESTA授權許可,或有其他違反移民法事項者。

  • 提出ESTA申請需準備哪些資料?

    提出ESTA申請需準備哪些資料?

    • 每份申請都必須提供英文的個人資料,包括姓名、出生日期、護照資訊等。申請者亦須回答有無傳染疾病、特定罪行之逮捕與定罪、撤銷簽證或遭驅逐出境之紀錄以及其他相關問題。兒童不分年齡,均須取得個別ESTA授權許可。申請者亦須提供信用卡或金融卡資訊,以支付ESTA申請費用。

  • 申請ESTA授權許可需要繳費嗎?

    申請ESTA授權許可需要繳費嗎?

    • 是的。實際費用需視ESTA授權許可是否得到批准。若被批准,則費用為14美元,涵蓋二部分的費用:

      • 4美元的處理費──所有電子旅行授權許可之申請者,每次提出申請都必須支付處理費,不論其許可是否獲得批准。

      • 10美元的旅遊推廣法案費──若您的申請獲得批准,得到適用VWP赴美之許可,則您的信用卡或金融卡將被收取10美元的費用。這筆費用將匯入旅遊推廣基金。若您的申請遭拒,則僅需支付處理費。

  • 我應何時提出ESTA申請?

    我應何時提出ESTA申請?

    • 您可以在旅行前任何時候提出申請,但我們建議您儘早申請。VWP旅客在申請ESTA授權許可前,不需行程具體規劃,但請記得授權許可的作業時間可能需72小時。

  • ESTA授權許可的效期有多久?

    ESTA授權許可的效期有多久?


    • ESTA授權許可的效期通常是二年或護照到期日,以二者較早發生者為準。請到美國海關暨邊境保衛局CBP網站的ESTA問答集,了解哪些情形必須重新申請ESTA授權許可。若旅客換發新護照、更改姓名、變性、改變國籍、或之前回答ESTA申請時所給的答案已不再正確,則必須重新申請ESTA旅行許可。否則,旅客在授權許可效期內均可前往美國,無需再提出ESTA申請。

  • 我已具備有效的B1/B2簽證,還需要申請ESTA嗎?

    我已具備有效的B1/B2簽證,還需要申請ESTA嗎?

    • 不需要。旅客若已具備有效的觀光簽證,只要旅行目的符合觀光簽證(B),且簽證尚未過期或遭撤銷,仍可使用該簽證。此情況下,不需再提出ESTA申請。具有效簽證者皆不需申請ESTA授權許可。

  • 若以VWP入境美國,接著又到加拿大或墨西哥,可再以VWP回到美國嗎?

    若以VWP入境美國,接著又到加拿大或墨西哥,可再以VWP回到美國嗎?

    • 旅客以VWP入境,接者又到加拿大、墨西哥或鄰近島嶼做短暫旅行,一般都可再以VWP入境美國,惟可停留天數須扣除之前在美國以及在加拿大、墨西哥及鄰近島嶼停留天數。如需更多細節,請參考國土安全部海關暨邊境保衛局CBP網站。

  • 我是持有綠卡的美國居民, 但是我並不經常去美國。 如果為了要適用赴美免簽的資格, 我是否應該先放棄我的綠卡?

    我是持有綠卡的美國居民, 但是我並不經常去美國。 如果為了要適用赴美免簽的資格, 我是否應該先放棄我的綠卡?

    • 永久居民如果要以VWP赴美,必須先填寫I-407表格放棄永久居民身份及綠卡,並且在完成放棄手續後等待4-6週即可登錄ESTA系統申請許可。有關放棄永久居留的說明請查詢我們的移民簽證服務網站。

  • 當我提出ESTA旅行許可申請時,卻被收取比14美元還高的費用,我該怎麼辦?

    當我提出ESTA旅行許可申請時,卻被收取比14美元還高的費用,我該怎麼辦?

    • 很多由第三方所成立的網站會收取費用並代替您提出申請。如果您已透過某一個第三方網站提出申請,我們強烈建議您使用您的申請案號,至美國政府官方網站確認您的ESTA申請已經被傳送到我們的系統。我們建議您這麼做,是因為我們無法確認,透過第三方網站提出的申請是正確的。如果不正確,您在抵達美國時可能會面臨困難。


      美國海關及邊境防護局無法退還您支付給第三方網站的費用。如果您認為您被騙,請聯絡您的銀行或信用卡公司,要求他們除了該支付給美國政府的$14美元以外,其餘多付的費用請從您的帳單中刪除或退還給您。

Notes

  • [1] With respect to all references to “country” or “countries”, it should be noted that the Taiwan Relations Act of 1979, Pub. L. No. 96-8, Section 4(b)(1), provides that “[w]henever the laws of the United States refer or relate to foreign countries, nations, states, governments, or similar entities, such terms shall include and such laws shall apply with respect to Taiwan.” 22 U.S.C. § 3303(b)(1). Accordingly, all references to “country” or “countries” in the Visa Waiver Program authorizing legislation, Section 217 of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1187, are read to include Taiwan. This is consistent with the United States’ one-China policy, under which the United States has maintained unofficial relations with Taiwan since 1979.